Reflections on my first Teaching Assistant Position

by criticalhit009

Last semester, I worked as a teaching assistant for an introductory film course. I am done teaching for now, and I thought it was appropriate to reflect on my experiences to better improve my pedagogy.

Things that I did well:

  • I think I did well in teaching the basics of film form and style. Specific activities focused on assessing cinematography, mise-en-scène, and other elements of film form were relatively successful.
  • The class activity recommended by a friend of mine worked very well. You start by having students work individually on a few questions, then have them pair up and compare answers. Then have pairs link up with other pairs to make groups of four, which will then report back to the class.

Things that could have gone better:

  • I’ve been relatively well in terms of accommodating students, but in a few instances, it would have been beneficial to have been stricter, or most specifically, be willing to correct them. Thinking more about how to better assess these issues, I believe using more leading questions will allow students to figure out the correct answers.
  • I was very generous to students – giving them candy after halloween – but this also was stressful.
  • I always felt I was teaching somewhat by the grit of my teeth, even when I prepared for tutorials.

I am taking various teaching workshops to improve my teaching, and I look forward to teaching again

