Anomalisa

by criticalhit009

Anomalisa

Anomalisa might just be the best film I saw at TIFF. Written and directed by Charlie Kaufman with stop motion director Duke Johnson, Anomalisa is one of the tightest scripts I’ve seen, a beautifully rendered work that illustrates the fluidity and flexibly of animation. It’s use of voice acting and explicit use of stop motion puppetry only elaborate on its themes of the constructedness of identity and how we perceive others through our own egos.

I don’t have much to add yet that other reviewers haven’t, or rather, the energy to do some in depth analysis when the film already embodies its themes and motifs quite clearly. I will however discuss briefly its distribution strategy. The film is still shrouded in mystery (few images available online, no trailer), so I’m guessing the creators are seeking another round of buzz with the film publicly debuts later this year. I’ll predict at least one think piece will arise noting whether the film will be placed in the “Best Animated Feature” category for the Oscars, or the “Best Picture”. I can here the arguments now.

