A Brief History of Neoliberalism

by criticalhit009

I said months ago that I would post a review of the wonderful book by David Harvey, A Brief History of Neoliberalism. Unfortunately, I also read that months ago, but I will foolishly try to sum up my thoughts.

What makes Harvey’s work so engaging is that its accessible for anyone, or at least those with good critical thinking skills. You can know nothing going into his books, but finish them enlightened, whether it be neoliberalism, capitalism, or postmodernism. Harvey also synthesizes historical events and trends masterfully for the reader, presenting not just dates and figures, but moods, changes, growth, and decay. It’s history as it should be, teaching us how we got to a world of capitalism run rampant, which being fully engaging along the way.

