In Memory of Justin “Jew Wario” Carmical

by criticalhit009

Justin "Jew Wario" Carmical

I was struck by surprise today when news broke that Justin Carmical, known to many by his video game reviewing moniker “Jew Wario,” committed suicide last Thursday. I cannot fathom the loss and pain others who knew him well must be feeling right now, and the stories being shared that he was a man of utmost kindness makes me wish I knew him better. After the initial shock of the news, I thought of perhaps writing on the ephemerality of the web, an analysis of internet personalities, or interactions within fan communities. But then I realized to do so would be largely exploitative, and I feel shame for ever thinking of doing so in the first place. This is a time for mourning.

 ”I want you all to look at me. Because what I’m about to say is important. I’ve been thinking about this a lot; a lot lately. And I want you all to know this. This goes out to everybody. You’re not stupid. Okay? You’re not stupid. Don’t ever tell yourself that you are. You’re important. What you have in your head may not mean a lot to a lot of people, but its what makes you special. You are important. You mean something. And you’re going to go out there, and you’re gonna to do some wonderful things. But, first and foremost, you’re not stupid. You’re not an idiot. Don’t ever tell yourself that you are. And, if nobody else ever tells you this, I will tell you this; I care about you.” – Justin Carmical aka JewWario “You Can Stream This” 3/8/13

Rest in peace, friend, and rise in glory.

