Christian Kitsch #2: Purity Rings

by criticalhit009

I’ve been out of town for the past week, hence the lack of activity from my blog. More posts will be coming this week, but in the meantime, enjoy this wonderful and important analysis of purity rings and its surrounding culture.

The Tiger Manifesto

I admit that I struggled over what kind of Christian kitsch to examine after my inaugural post on Archie’s Sonshine went so well. There is such a grotesque excess of these objects in existence that deciding on a second post proved more difficult than I imagined. Spending some time contemplating Christian kitsch with less innate humor, however, has proved productive since it requires more delicacy and care in the composition and editing processes. I relish a challenge, and thus elected purity rings as my next subject. The practice of wearing purity rings originated in the 1990s among evangelical circles. In my estimation, it’s another outgrowth both of Christian right social “values” policing and their growing obsession with youth. People in their teens have been having sex since ancient times, but through most of history were usually married by the onset of sexual maturity, especially women. Youthful marriages are, of course…

View original post 1,153 more words

